Royal Genes


Safe For Kids





Question about email received



Tue, 01 Nov 2005 21:51:33 GMT alt.genealogy
previous


ALIDA SPRY...
Hello listers,

I received an email with no subject and body except the word "info" from a
geneagil@cegetel.net with a file called "max.zip" attachment.

Dave Hinz...
Don't open it.


I haven't opened it because it seems very suspicious. I do not recognize
the email address and when I searched the web for it, it is a French website. Has anyone
else received something like this? Is it a virus or trojan horse or
something?

Charani...
If in doubt - delete!!

It's very likely a virus or other malware.


Alf...
It is a VIRUS, see


Dave Hinz...
It could be. Most likely someone is infected who has both you, and
geneagil@cegetel.net in their address book - if it's a virus, the only
thing you know is that it _didn't_ come from who it claims to be from.

I guess you could email geneagil and ask them if they sent you
something, but I bet that it's a virus based on the filetype, the
absence of message body, and the ambiguous subject: header.

Dave Hinz


oslo...
New Bagle/ Beagle Variant
Vendor Info:
http://vil.nai.com/vil/content/v_136751.htm
next